Self Defense Solutions, LLC

Arizona Recognizes all other states valid permits, however some states require written agreements in order for them to recognize our state.


This state and any political subdivision of this state shall recognize a concealed weapon, firearm or handgun permit or license that is issued by another state or a political subdivision of another state if both:


1. The permit or license is recognized as valid in the issuing state.

2. The permit or license holder is all of the following:

(a) Not a resident of this state.

(b) Legally present in this state.

(c) Not legally prohibited from possessing a firearm in this state.

For the purpose of establishing mutual permit or license recognition with other states, the Arizona department of public safety shall enter into a written agreement if another state requires a written agreement.


Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, a person with a concealed weapons permit from another state may not carry a concealed weapon in this state if the person is under twenty-one years of age or is under indictment for, or has been convicted of, a felony offense in any jurisdiction, even if the person's rights have been restored and the conviction is expunged, set-aside or vacated.

The State of Arizona has current written reciprocal agreements with the following states:

Alaska Ohio Arkansas Pennsylvania Idaho (Pending) South Dakota Mississippi (Pending) West Virginia Texas


These states have active CCW written reciprocal agreement on file with the State of Arizona. This means your Arizona permit allows you to carry concealed under their respective state statute and Arizona will reciprocate by honoring CCW permits issued by these states.


States that honor the Arizona permit without a valid reciprocity agreement:


Alabama Colorado Delaware Florida Georgia Indiana Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Michigan Missouri Montana New Hampshire New Mexico North Carolina North Dakota Oklahoma South Carolina Tennessee Utah Virginia Wyoming


In accordance with U.C.A. 76-10-523, Utah will honor a permit to carry a concealed firearm issued by another state or county.


Although there are many states that will recognize the Utah concealed firearm permit, the State of Utah has formal reciprocity with the following states:


Alabama Alaska Colorado Florida Georgia Louisiana Mississippi New Hampshire North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Pennsylvania South Dakota Texas Virginia Washington State West Virginia


The following states recognize the Utah concealed firearm permit:


Arizona Arkansas Delaware Idaho Indiana Kentucky Michigan Minnesota Missouri Montana Nevada New Mexico Oklahoma Tennessee Vermont Wyoming


It is extremely important that all CCW Permit holders be aware of the CCW requirements and laws of all reciprocating/recognizing states. A CCW permit issued in one state does not supersede any other state's law or CCW requirements. Persons carrying a valid CCW permit issued by one state are subject to the laws of the state they are visiting.


If you are a permit holder traveling to another state and wish to carry a concealed weapon using your permit, contact that state directly to confirm their recognition status before carrying concealed weapons there.


This is only a guide. Some states only recognize permits from persons who are a resident of the issuing state.